NPA Cyber

NPA Cyber Security

Most of our lives are now on the internet, with it being expected by the end of 2020 there will be 50 billion devices connected to the internet. The internet offers many blessings but, there is also a dark side. It is estimated that there is a global shortage of two million cyber security workers. Cyber security is crucial to ensuring our data is safe. 

The cyber security course is available at levels 5 and 6. The course includes the following units: 

  1. Data Security 
  2. Ethical Hacking 
  3. Digital Forensics 


Each unit has two assessment elements: 

  1. Practical Task 
  2. Multiple Choice theory test (SQA Solar) 

You must pass the performance criteria for both for each unit, this is awarded on a pass/fail basis 

Unit 1: Data Security 

Level 5 

This unit covers personal and corporate data security, including aspects of legal and ethical obligations. You will discuss examples of real-life data security breaches, and examine the reputational and financial damage caused by poor data security 
On completing this unit, you will be able to use their knowledge to discuss data security breaches and provide remedial solutions 

Level 6 

The aim of this unit is to equip you with knowledge and skills to create a data security policy for a professional organisations, and justify your decisions. 

On completing this unit, you will have practical experience of the risks associated with data security, and the knowledge and skills to develop a security strategy for a small business. 

Unit 2: Ethical Hacking 

 Level 5 

This unit enhances your awareness of the potential threats from malicious hackers to individuals and organisations, and how ethical hacking can help identify and mitigate these threats. 

On completion of the unit, you will have knowledge of current legislation relating to computer hacking, and how this relates to your professional practice. You will be able to discuss and apply tools and techniques used by both malicious and ethical hackers to identify vulnerabilities. 

Level 6 

This unit will provide you with an understanding of the potential threats, factors and tools that can be leveraged by malicious hackers to target individuals and organisations. You will also be introduced to some of the techniques and technologies used to defend systems from attack, as well as, being able to evaluate the legislation and ethics of hacking. 

On completion of this unit, you will be able to explain and apply the main methods used by malicious hackers to compromise individuals’ and organisations’ systems in a controlled environment. 

Unit 3: Digital Forensics 

Level 5 

This unit will develop your practical skills like CSI to identify evidential sources across a range of digital devices and media. Using the sources of evidence, you will analyse and interpret data and identify its relevancy to an enquiry under investigation and then report on that information.  

Level 6 

This unit will develop your skills in identification and preservation of evidential content across a broad range of digital devices and media. Using these sources, learners will analyse, reconstruct and interpret data. You will be able to apply complex techniques to acquire data, conduct analysis and effectively communicate the evaluation of a complex digital forensics examination.